All about the names

In our community, it is a normal practice to use the grandfather’s name for the son’s and grandmother’s name for the daughter’s (the grandparent being the kid’s grandparents obviously). I was named after my grandmother (father’s mom) but then people younger than my grandmom can’t call me using her name (would seem rather disrespectful isn’t? Well, not in many other countries, but here, trust me, it is very disrespectful) so they had another name for unofficial purposes (aka to call me by that name at home, where my grandmom might be around) Later they combined both the names and now I am mostly known by my household name which sort of became my ‘name’ (both official and personal)

Keeping in with the tradition, my brother (who is named after my granddad) named his daughters the same way. The first one is named after my mom, and the second one named after my sister in law’s mom. Both short and sweet names. But at home, they are called using different names (which are also very short and sweet). And no, they haven’t combined both names to one. They don’t go that well together. Mine was the only exception. So today my brother went to book train tickets (for their annual vacation to my place) at the station (he found it was getting very tedious to do it online, so went to the station to get it done….took less time and less effort to get it done there). There he had to fill the form and in that, there were two names which were similar but the ages were quite different. One was 5 years old (first niece) and the other 65 years old (my mom). The person who was at the counter looked at my brother and goes like, ‘are you sure this is right?’ And took his sweet time to hear my brother’s explanation about the family names and such and finally was convinced and booked the tickets. I am sure the person who is gonna check their tickets is also going to have the same questions (or probably not, if he is having his granddad’s name for himself). And guess what, both of them got concession: one was underage (full tickets are assigned to people of age 6 and above), so only priced for half a ticket and the other was too old so, priced for half a ticket (being a senior citizen and all).

I have heard of people using the same names and adding suffixes like Jr, or Sr, etc., but what about in the case of women? If for example, you use the same name as your grandmom’s or mom’s? How do you differentiate when you talk about two women in a family having the same name. Haven’t heard of Sr or Jr associated with them. In our cases, we never assign Sr / Jr even to men, so it hardly matters and we do have two names for a single person.

18 comments

  1. MaggieMayQ · January 26, 2016

    The only thing I ever learned about Indian names are that Kaur (princess) is for girls and Singh (lion) is for men, if they are sikh. And no one has a “family” name sort of. It makes people like me highly confused!

    Earlier in Norway there used to -son and -daughter. So I would have my fathers first name and they would add -daughter at the end. That also could be highly confusing – good thing they stepped away from that.

    In general names are confusing, unless your name is Bob!

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · January 26, 2016

      He he…. People do have family names but that is restricted to only certain communities. Most of them have their place name as surname. Or their community names like Nair, Singh etc. But yeah unless it is similar and unique within a family, it can be pretty confusing 😉

      Like

      • MaggieMayQ · January 26, 2016

        Now I’m even more confused. Makes me feel lucky for being one out of twelve in the country with my last name – yep, we all know who the other twelve are! It’s even a protected last name, so unless you are born, adopted or married to someone with the name – you have to apply to get it. (And we all know I would be the one saying – sorry you can’t have it!)

        Liked by 1 person

        • KG · January 26, 2016

          Ha ha ha 😂 😂 😂 Well, aren’t you a sort of royalty then 👑???

          Like

          • MaggieMayQ · January 26, 2016

            Well, I do share a middle (family) name with the crown princess family (before she married the crown prince that is), but that’s not the special name 😛

            But it’s kind of fun to have such an unique name. I have met people who have asked me if I know some one and I usually do “That’s my cousin/uncle…”.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Uday · January 26, 2016

    Or maybe you can add a count, like Thomas the First, the Second….lol 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · January 26, 2016

      Might sound good with English names.. But what about our native language based names. Parvati1, Parvati2???? (don’t know anyone by that name… Just a random choice) that really doesn’t sound good at all, man…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Uday · January 27, 2016

        I know, I was just joking..! It’s quite a pickle, I know. But I have a question, going by this scheme, there won’t be any new names at all? If the same names gets passed down from generations…

        Liked by 1 person

        • KG · January 27, 2016

          🙂 But they wanted names to be passed down and hence the scheme I guess. But yeah, it’s all muddled

          Like

  3. lindamartinandersen · January 27, 2016

    Very interesting. I have a first cousin who named her daughter after her mom. There are two living family members named Alene. The younger was called “Little Alene” for years. I don’t know about now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · January 27, 2016

      Well, we can use Little for a while for women I suppose 🙂 but eventually it can get a little confusing doesn’t!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. patricksponaugle · January 27, 2016

    My daughter’s name is Grace, and we have family friends whose daughter is named Grace. When we’re together for big gatherings, we usually talk about “my Grace” and “your Grace”

    There was a time when “my Grace” was mutually referred to as “little Grace”

    That’s really the only example I can think of.

    Actually, in one office I worked in, we had a Jessica. When a second Jessica showed up, we called one of them Jessica Prime.

    For fun, we’d call one Original Jessica and Other Jessica. Which made it more fun when we’d use initials OJ.

    Liked by 2 people

    • KG · January 27, 2016

      He he he… This problem is there not just in a family, I agree. Guess we will always find a way 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • lindamartinandersen · January 27, 2016

      KC, I just wanted to let Patrick know that his comments were fun and also helpful to me. I began a picture book years ago with a character named Grace and played on the word’s use in scripture. I think KC’s comments have created a stirring to get back to that project and maybe add more humor with the name connection, possibly even initials.

      I thank you for this post too, KC. I’ve been inspired! Woohoo!

      Liked by 2 people

      • KG · January 27, 2016

        He he… Nice! And I have always enjoyed Patrick’s posts and his comments. If you are a Game of Throne’s fan then you should check out his blog too.

        Like

Leave a Reply

