Thoughts, Words, Action

“Words are nothing by loud thoughts.” said my friend.

“Not entirely. [Words are] more of censored thoughts or to be more precise [Words are ] thoughts filtered through societal norms. ” said I.

[courtesy: a late night conversation]

I also read somewhere that ‘Drunk words are sober thoughts’ 😉 I am not sure of that. Irrespective of my alcohol induced-buzzed state or otherwise, my words always appear a little buzzed.

I do filter them because even though I might scream profanities in my head, I hardly say them out loud. And when I do say them, I sort of get a loud response in the form of silence. In my college, during a lecture, I remembered one of a guest lecturer saying that ‘be careful about your thoughts and words, because it will circle the world and will come back to you one time or the other’. That is why I am a little careful about what I say.

I am also not a person who will voice out whatever I think. I think a lot. My brain can go to all places and create a mind map of its own from a single source point. It’s probably the case with everyone. It would definitely make me look a little crazy if I voice out every one of them. But sometimes thoughts are just not enough isn’t. Unless I voice them out or give them form using words, they may mean something to me, but they don’t carry enough weight as much as they should. But once we give them form using words, is that enough? They say actions speak louder than words? So should we convert the thoughts to actions or words? Does it depend on what the thought is about? Should some thoughts just remain as thoughts? Let me give you some examples for these which came to my mind. Let us say I miss someone, should I tell them or show them? If I am so angry at someone that I wish them ill, should this thought be even given a form either as words or actions? If I think of something creative, would it be enough to explain it or will it carry more weight if I put it in action?

Thoughts are the most powerful among all these. Because it is solely ours. It can’t be twisted in any form. It can’t be misunderstood. It can’t be misinterpreted. It is the purest form because it is within the confines of our mind and has the power to affect our soul. But unless it is given a form, it will also die an easy death. It can be lost in the huge maze of our mind. And only we have the power to convert it. And that power makes each of us a creator. Does it?

I guess, I got carried away with the topic 🙂 There was one other thing that was discussed but I will come back to it later.

6 comments

  1. lindamartinandersen · January 29, 2016

    Think about lots. Say less.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · January 29, 2016

      ☺ I guess. That sure is safe

      Like

  2. Janice · January 30, 2016

    A very interesting topic and musings on it. One thought I had is about the nature of our internal stuff–being aware of thoughts is positive but running with feeling laced thoughts is not necessarily wise…they can be deceiving.

    Like

    • KG · January 30, 2016

      Thank you 🙂
      You mean the thoughts that are triggered by emotions and how it can take a whole new form and make us lose our perspectives?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Janice · January 30, 2016

        Yes, sometimes thoughts take off and go places that don’t reflect all of our feelings or even lead us to interpret events in distorted ways–clarity and new thoughts can rise up after rest, reflection, time, change of mood etc. This reflection of mine is just a snippet that came to mind on reading your post.

        Liked by 1 person

        • KG · January 30, 2016

          Thanks for the clarification Janice. That is indeed a good reflection on the topic 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

