Historical Hampi

My friend and I drove down to Hampi during the last week as part of my short break 🙂

I will be posting my experiences out there on my travel blog.  But until then, here are some photographs representing the beautiful historic town. This is my second visit to this town after a gap of 10 years. It was a short but memorable visit.

hampi4

Hanuman Statue

hampi3

Lotus Mahal (for the Queen’s)

hampi2

King’s Balance

hampi1

The famous Stone Chariot

hampi7

Sunset  view from Matunga Hill

hampi6

Virupaksha Temple

hampi5

The giant Kadalekalu Ganesha

 

16 comments

  1. Eric Klingenberg · March 2, 2016

    Amazing photos. You are very lucky to able to visit it.

    Like

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Thank you Eric 🙂 Yes I am. It is always a pleasure to visit this place.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lspeng1951 · March 2, 2016

    Great series of shots on a historical site with such beautiful intricate stone carvings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Thank you 🙂 There were quite a lot but I couldn’t finish all of them in a day.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul S · March 2, 2016

    Fabulous photos, fabulous place. To think I’d never even heard of Hampi until I visited this post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Thank you Paul 🙂 Glad to spread my love of this place through my posts and photographs.

      Like

  4. patricksponaugle · March 2, 2016

    Those are amazing photos! What a magical looking place!

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Thank you Patrick 🙂 It was very hot but beautiful nevertheless

      Liked by 1 person

  5. nivs24 · March 2, 2016

    Great captures.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Thank you 🙂 Had to choose just a few from the hundreds.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. lindamartinandersen · March 2, 2016

    Fabulous photos and virtual vacation for me!

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Thank you Linda 🙂 Glad to hear that

      Like

  7. swo8 · March 2, 2016

    Magnificent photos, thank you so much for sharing with us. To think of the talent and technical ability to create such beautiful, lasting monuments. Amazing.
    Leslie

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 2, 2016

      Sure Leslie 🙂 True… We spent so much time discussing the same thing when we were there. Truly magnificent

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: My Article Read (3-3-2016) – My Daily Musing
  9. Pingback: Hampi in a day – Part 4 | Memoirs of my travels

Leave a Reply

