A-Z Book List: J for Jokes

I am not a big fan of non-fiction. I tried, I swear. But it always puts me to sleep faster than any sleeping methods I have tried. My serious reading days are over I think. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t bought books that are non-fiction. There is no specific reason as to why I would buy a book. It can range from ‘I like that title’ to ‘I am intrigued by its success’  to ‘I loved the blurb’ to ‘I have read it once and I need to have this book for later reading’. Today’s book is one that I picked because of the title.

Name: Joking Around by Osho

Genre: Non-Fiction, Philisophy
image

I have to admit that I haven’t read this book fully. I bought it at a sale somewhere (not evne a book sale) and have had it for a very long time. What I usually do with this book is: Pick it up, randomly select a page, go through the chapter or the story (yes, this has some stories as a way of answers) and keep it back. That way it is more fun. I remember reading a nice chapter about ego. Do I believe in OSHO? I don’t know much about him or his views to form an opinion. We did try to visit his ashram in Pune on one of our trips but we ended up very late in the hour and it was closed. I am not sure when I will finally complete this book. But I have got it with me in paperback. So I can go back to it whenever I feel like it. I definitely need to be in a particular frame of mind to read such books and grasp what they are trying to tell. And with the work and other stuff, it is very rare for me to get to that space. Will definitely update you all when I eventually do (hoping that I will still be blogging and y’all still be reading my blog)… 😉

PS: Check out the rest of the A-Z Book list here

2 comments

  1. Alexandra · March 10, 2016

    non-fiction has the same effect on me lol 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 10, 2016

      😆 Glad to hear that! I thought it was just my age 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

