You will never leave…

This week’s Song Lyric Sunday had me very confused. I was listening to some old numbers that I had (that means they are old in my playlist) and wasn’t sure which one to share 🙂 Finally, this song won.

I heard this song for the first time in Apple Pie’s blog post and it was an instant love 🙂  There many other version’s but I like Ruby Friedman’s version a lot. Give it a listen and I am sure you will like it too 😉

Lyrics from Metro Lyrics

In the deep dark hills of eastern Kentucky
That’s the place where I traced my bloodline
And it’s there I read on a hillside gravestone
“You’ll never leave Harlan alive”

Oh my grandfather’s dad crossed the Cumberland Mountains
Where he took a pretty girl to be his bride
Said “Won’t you walk with me out the mouth of this holler
Or we’ll never leave Harlan alive”

Where the sun comes up about ten in the mornin’
And the sun goes down about three in the day
And you’ll fill your cup with whatever bitter brew you’re drinkin’
And you spend your life just thinkin’ of how to get away

No one ever knew there was coal in them mountains
Till a man from the northeast arrived
Waving hundred dollar bills
He said “I’ll pay you for your minerals”
He never left Harlan alive

instrumental interlude – Banjo solo

Where the sun comes up about ten in the mornin’
And the sun goes down about three in the day
And you’ll fill your cup with whatever bitter brew you’re drinkin’
And you spend your life just thinkin’ of how to get away

5 comments

  1. Paul S · March 20, 2016

    What a haunting tune!
    I might have to dig in and listen to the different versions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 20, 2016

      Thank you Paul 🙂

      Like

  2. Helen Espinosa · March 20, 2016

    I love songs that tell stories and this one was done masterfully. It got my creative juices flowing. Lol. And I love her voice. Paired with the banjo, the images and the haunting melody, it gave me chills. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · March 20, 2016

      Thanks Helen 🙂 Yes, it is quite haunting isn’t. I think it was featured in a series as the title song or something like that. Don’t remember which one though

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

