I am a tourist.

The theme for this week’s Song Lyric Sunday is ‘Summer’. Summer is almost over for us Indians. The peak of it is in May and the only thing that I associate with summer is ‘vacation‘. For 4 years, I have managed to go somewhere for my two week vacation and enjoy myself. I hope it continues going forward. My song for this week is something related to vacation. It is called ‘You are a Tourist’ by Death Cab for Cutie. This is another song that I got from my friend’s (alternative songs) playlist. It is a very simple one, but tells you how a lot of us feel from time to time, the feeling to just get away even if it is for a short while.

Lyrics from MetroLyrics

This fire grows higher
This fire grows higher
This fire grows higher
This fire grows higher

When there’s a burning in your heart
An endless yearning in your heart
Build it bigger than the sun
Let it grow, let it grow
When there’s a burning in your heart
Don’t be alarmed

This fire grows higher

When there’s a doubt within your mind
Because you’re thinking all the time
Framing rights into wrongs
Move along, move along
When there’s a doubt within your mind

When there’s a burning in your heart
And you think it’ll burst apart
Oh there’s nothing to fear
Save the tears, save the tears
When there’s a burning in your heart

And if you feel just like a tourist
In the city you were born
Then it’s time to go
And define your destination
There’s so many different places to call home
Cause when you find yourself the villain
In the story you have written
It’s plain to see
That sometimes the best intentions
Are in need of redemption
Would you agree?
If so please show me

This fire grows higher
When there’s a burning in your heart

Posting it for this week’s Song Lyric Sunday.

img_1345

10 comments

  1. Sue Ranscht · June 19

    I’ve never heard this before. interesting. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • KG · June 19

      Thank you, Sue 🙂 I love pop but I love to hear some alternative from time to time.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Josslyn Rae Turner · June 19

    Very catchy. Reminds me of the 80s. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Helen Espinosa · June 19

    I realized a while ago that I love Death Cab for Cutie in small doses. I love hearing their songs (one at a time) but trying to listen to an entire album is like hearing the same song over and over. LOL. But I hadn’t head this one and I love it! Love the lyrics – “When there’s a doubt within your mind because you’re thinking all the time…” Brilliant!

    Liked by 2 people

    • KG · June 19

      I don’t know a lot of the bands because I hear only one or couple of their songs. So this band is new to me except for this song 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Helen Espinosa · June 19

        They have a few good songs, but they really do all sound very similar. The lyrics are great though. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Prior-2001 · June 20

    Cool song – the best and lyrics – with the good intentions line and other things they capture – thx for sharing – and funny band name – ha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

