Say cheese

“Smiling is infectious,
you catch it like the flu,
When someone smiled at me today,
I started smiling too.”
― Karen McLendon-Laumann

IMG_3051IMG_3053

Captured when these kids were playing around in the temporary stage erected for the performances during the Ganesh Chathurthi festival at my friend’s housing community. They were so happy to be photographed. It first started with the kid on the right. I was watching them play and when he saw me I smiled and he reciprocated and went about playing. When I was contemplating if I should take one casual picture of theirs, he turned around. When he saw that I was ready with my camera he got ready with a pose. He then urged his friends to join him too.  And yes, I showed their photos to them and got their ecstatic approval.

I realized that I am growing to enjoy capturing their beautiful smiles and their enthusiasm. I might have to do it more often and whenever I get the opportunity.

Update: I posted it on Thursday night IST time, and when I saw today’s Weekly Photo Challenge, I realized that I could use the post for the same. So here it is, republishing it for this week’s Photography challenge theme: Humanity.

42 comments

  1. lifeconfusions · September 11, 2014

    Oh God this picture speaks volume….Fantastic !

    Like

    • KG · September 11, 2014

      Thank you 🙂 I loved those kid’s expressions and was glad to take what they offered, a touch of innocence.

      Like

  2. quarksire · September 12, 2014

    Kewl One 🙂

    Like

    • KG · September 12, 2014

      Thank you Q 🙂

      Like

  3. swo8 · September 12, 2014

    What a lovely smile, indeed!
    Leslie

    Like

    • KG · September 12, 2014

      Thank you Leslie 🙂 I was happy seeing him smiling.

      Like

  4. situnis · September 12, 2014

    lovely smiles 🙂

    Like

    • KG · September 12, 2014

      Aren’t they 🙂 I liked how he gave me a very instant pose there and glad that I was ready by then.

      Like

  5. sustainabilitea · September 12, 2014

    They are photos that not only show happiness but give it.

    janet

    Like

    • KG · September 12, 2014

      Very true 🙂 Thank you Janet.

      Like

  6. Rajiv · September 12, 2014

    I love their smiles!

    Like

    • KG · September 12, 2014

      Yeah, it’s very addictive.

      Like

  7. Mara Eastern · September 12, 2014

    Oh, I love it that you accompanied your lovely pictures with a little quote! Great job 🙂

    Like

    • KG · September 12, 2014

      Thank you 🙂 They complemented the picture very well and I couldn’t help myself from using them.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Steve · September 13, 2014

    Great captures of natural smiles 🙂

    Like

    • KG · September 13, 2014

      Thank you Steve 🙂

      Like

  9. Maria Johnson · September 13, 2014

    That kid…endearing!

    Like

  10. Cardinal Guzman · September 13, 2014

    Indian kids just love being photographed.

    Like

  11. Shelly Tennyson Taylor · September 13, 2014

    Love these!!

    Like

  12. seeker · September 13, 2014

    I want to be infected. Love it.

    Like

  13. idiotwriter · September 13, 2014

    Amazing photos…those smiles truly are infectious.
    Yip – children bring so much joy ~

    Like

  14. Tina Schell · September 14, 2014

    Timing is everything – it’s perfect for the challenge!

    Like

    • KG · September 14, 2014

      Thank you Tina 🙂

      Like

  15. Gorgeous!

    Like

  16. suyashchopra · September 16, 2014

    Aha, what a cute smile he has! And you captured it so well, KG. Well done.

    Do visit my blog page as well. You will find more such smiles and fun there 🙂

    Like

  17. ywwp · September 17, 2014

    good interesting reading…regards – http://yourwellwisherprogram.wordpress.com

    Like

  18. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Humanity | Endless Skys
  19. jenny · September 18, 2014

    Utterly gorgeous! Humanity at it’s loveliest. Great entry for the theme this week.

    Like

    • KG · September 18, 2014

      Thank you 🙂

      Like

  20. Pingback: weekly photo challenge: humanity | my sweetpainteddreams
  21. beeblu · September 20, 2014

    I love your “Not Featured on Freshly Pressed” badge – lol 😀

    Like

    • KG · September 20, 2014

      Thanks to Don Charisma, who offered me that badge. Is so cool isn’t ? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

