Those two words

Have you ever confused between words. You use one instead of the other and those two have two different meanings and are not related to each other in any way at all ? There was this one set of words, which I have used interchangeably, so much that my mistake is recorded as part of a book I printed to record my European travels and not to mention the never ending sarcasm that it generated when I had my friends read it. 😳

The words are Magnificent and Magnanimous.  I am not going to tell you how I used that in a sentence. But if it is possible to make them interchange their meaning, I would apply for it. I don’t know why I do it. Signs of old age? Stupidity ? Whatever it is, I am tired of being corrected. If it was once, I can understand. Even during one of our discussion about something I used the other word. How pathetic. So yeah, I had made a vow for myself to not use any of these two words consciously in any discussion or sentence as much as possible. Thankfully, Maleficent is something that didn’t stick with me, otherwise 😉 But then I go and pick two more words and get confused.

There is this restaurant called ‘The Humming Tree’. For some reason, every time I refer to it, all I ever say is , “yeah, lets go to The Hanging Tree”. Not once , not twice, the whole day we had been there, I had been referring it as ‘The Hanging Tree’. I don’t know if it was because of the ‘The Hanging Tree’ song from The Hunger Games movie, which is really very eerie and good. Now I have to be conscious for these two words too in addition to the other two mentioned above.

Seriously, I don’t know what to do with myself sometimes.

11 thoughts on “Those two words”

      1. Yes, it’s on the Chamber of Secrets. In fact, I have the book with the error (of course, later editions have corrected it). When I first read it, I just thought WTF…

        This was the error: Dumbles said that Voldie was “the ancestor of Slytherin”…

        Like

Leave a comment