SoCS: Just some stuff

Sincerely: There was a time when we wrote application forms and official letters by hand and it was signed “Yours Sincerely”. I don’t know why that came to my mind as the first thing when I thought of “s”. Well, we have stopped writing hand written letters and I don’t remember using that word even in my official e-mails. It’s always “Regards”. Wonder when and why it came to be that way!

Shorthand: I am not sure how many of you tried to learn or learnt shorthand. I completed my higher in typewriting during my bachelor’s (with the assumption that I need to be well equipped for basic jobs that might come my way later, even though my bachelors was in computer science) and during my master’s my mom (who had her higher in type writing for both English and Tamil language and had done lower in shorthand) insisted that I complete shorthand too, just in case. Even though I was doing my master’s in computers it always paid to be well equipped for all kinds of jobs, she would say. But I couldn’t complete that because it was too difficult to manage with my Masters. And once I entered into this IT industry, which I never dreamt of, it just faded away. But I think I remember seeing that course book somewhere in the attic, last time I was at my parent’s place. I wonder if that art (yes, I consider it an art) is still in use.

Stamp: Stamp collection used to be an art and a very common hobby. The stamps told a lot about our history. There used to be stamps that were introduced to commemorate some special event. I haven’t heard about such things for a long time now.

Some weird stuff with ‘s’ huh.      

 


Post for this week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt.

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: the letter “s.” Write the first thing that comes to mind when you sit down to compose your SoCS post!

SoCS Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

3 thoughts on “SoCS: Just some stuff”

  1. I learned shorthand in high school – I don’t know anyone who still uses it – voice recorders have pretty much made it obsolete I think. Quite an interesting assortment of s’s!

    Like

Leave a comment