Happy for you

I am a little late for this prompt, but my Saturday went in a blur and I don’t remember half of it 😉
But one thing that I was glad to hear as the first news yesterday was the Supreme Court’s ruling of same sex marriages in USA. Nothing could have put me in a good mood and I was really happy to get drunk on it 🙂
Seriously though, I was glad for my friends for whom this court ruling makes a WHOLE LOT of difference in their lives. When I went to USA this May, I was fortunate to be the photographer of the civil court marriage of two of my very close guy friends. I don’t care what any religion says, all I care about is for my family and friends to be happy and if they find their partner or soulmate in the same sex, so be it. And this legal decision goes a long way to bring equality in a manner of sorts. I am also happy to post this on this Gay Pride Day (it is already Sunday here as per IST, so).

IMG_8134

And I love the last paragraph of Justice Kennedy’s speech. I am posting it here, because it has the word ‘some’ in it 😉 So yeah I did fulfill the prompt’s challenge.

 

No union is more profound than marriage, for it embodies the highest ideals of love, fidelity, devotion, sacrifice, and family. In forming a marital union, two people become something greater than once they were. As some of the petitioners in these cases demonstrate, marriage embodies a love that may endure even past death. It would misunderstand these men and women to say they disrespect the idea of marriage. Their plea is that they do respect it, respect it so deeply that they seek to find its fulfillment for themselves. Their hope is not to be condemned to live in loneliness, excluded from one of civilization’s oldest institutions. They ask for equal dignity in the eyes of the law. The Constitution grants them that right. The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit is reversed.
It is so ordered.

Let me go ahead and use the other word too and end this post with a quote…

“Life is a sum of all your choices”.

To all those to whom this decision makes a difference, Congratulations! and a big hug from me!


Post for this week’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday prompt.

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is: “some/sum.” Use either or both words, or choose a word in which either are used as a prefix or suffix. Have an awesome time with it!

SoCS Badge by Doobster @ Mindful Digressions

2 thoughts on “Happy for you”

Leave a comment